Faculty of Physics was established as a faculty operating in Kabul University 1942 as Physics department. The Natural Science Faculty was established when a need was felt because of the lack of enough faculty especially given the fact that the number of the students in primary and secondary schools was increasing on the one hand. Another reason for establishing this faculty was the lack of enough professional in different fields of natural science given the rapid development of industries. Therefore, this faculty was established as Faculty of Science to deal with the mentioned problems, and later its name was translated into Dari as Faculty of “Olum-e Tabiee”

The first group of students to enter the faculty of science started studying in the fields of Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology. Professionals of different science related fields who were then working in ministries and under different projects, or were employed by governmental organizations were encouraged to start teaching in this faculty so that the faculty starts serving the community with their help.

At the time, students were studying in the fields of (Mathematics and Physics) and (Chemistry and Biology). In 1969 the academic structure of the faculty changed and modifications were made in its curricula so that they became more professional, and this led to the establishment of the four different departments of Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics. It is worth mentioning that in 1970, the chemistry department starting offering programs in the fields of industrial chemistry, chemistry and mathematics.

However, civil wars in Kabul destroyed completely the whole laboratories of science faculty including laboratories of physics faculty. But, with the help of Science faculty leadership, the ministry of Higher education and with cooperation of Germany and Japan laboratories of physics department were restored. And students of physics faculty are busy with them to do empirical works and experiments. Leadership of physics faculty, for well equipment of these laboratories, has been in contact with local and international organizations.

Based on a former request, and with the approval of the directorate of academic affairs and the leadership of the ministry of higher education, the department of physics officially became a faculty upon final approval from the president of the Islamic republic of Afghanistan. This faculty officially started operating in June 2016. This faculty has three departments: Theoretical physics, Electronics physics, and department of Nuclear and Atomic Physics.

In the abovementioned departments general physics, mechanics, electricity and magnetics, thermodynamics, optics wave, classical mechanics, statistical physics, quantum mechanics, atomic physics, semiconductor instruments, solid state physics, relativity theory, electromagnetic theory, nuclear physics, spectroscopy physics, electronics of communication have been teaching.

By considering teaching of above mentioned subjects at physics faculty, the graduates from faculty of physics are eligible to work in deferent administrations and organizations in Afghanistan. For example, in Ministry of Education, Ministry of Higher Education, Ministry of petroleum, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Defense, Atomic Energy of Afghanistan, Breshna